Five Islands
Christian Ministries Inc.

Ecumenical Events in the
Illawarra Region

Email admin@5icm.org.au to advertise ecumenical events on this page and in the Clearing the Way for Jesus newsletter. Only events in the Illawarra (Wollongong, Shellharbour and Kiama local government areas) are advertised in the newsletter but nearby events may be included on this page. There is no charge for this service. The inclusion of events in this list does not imply 5icm members agree with all the views expressed at these events. 

Upcoming Events
(scroll farther down for Regular Events)


    • Wednesdays 7th Feb to 27th March - Lunch Time Bible Talks
      Bishop Reg Piper will speak from Matthew's gospel about Jesus training his disciples 
      Details: 12:45-1:15 pm St Michael's Church Hall, cnr Church & Market Sts, Wollongong. Download flyer.
    • Friday 1st March, World Day of Prayer
      Host Country: Palestine
      Illawarra Services:
        St Luke's Anglican Church, Prince Edwards Dr, Brownsville
          Morning Tea from 10:00 a.m., Service starts at 11:00 a.m.
        Wollongong Seventh-Day Adventist Church,
          11:00 a.m. at 30 Victoria St, Wollongong
        Keiraview Uniting Church at 10:30 a.m.
          34 Fisher St, West Wollongong
        St Patrick's Catholic Church at 11:00 a.m.
          42 O'Donnell St, Port Kembla
        Mater Dolorosa Catholic Church at 10:00 a.m.
          47 Balmoral St, Balgownie
        St Michael's Catholic Church at 11:00 a.m.
          325 Lawrence Hargrave Dr, Thirroul
        Shellharbour Village Uniting Church at 11:00 a.m.
          10:00 a.m. for morning tea followed by Service.
          49 Mary St, Shellharbour
        Kiama Anglican Church at 10:00 a.m.
          2 Terralong St, Kiama
        Gerringong Anglican Church at 10:00 a.m.
          103 Fern St, Gerringong
    • Tuesday 5th March, Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert
      Details: 10:30 a.m. Warrigal, Pine St, Albion Park Rail
    • Thursday 7th March, Illawarra Prayer Breakfast Launch
      Details: 6:30-8:15a.m. at Shellharbour Community Church, 500 Shellharbour Rd, Shellharbour.
      RSVP: https://bit.ly/PrayerBreakfastLaunch2024
    • Thursday 7th March, CMS Illawarra Meeting
      Hear from missionaries about their work. BYO Lunch and mug, tea and coffee provided.
      Details: 12:30-2:00 p.m. Fairy Meadow Anglican Church
      Contact: Mia David
    • Sunday 17th March, St Patrick's Day
    • Thursday 21st March, Harmony Day + National Close the Gap Day
    • Saturday 23rd March, Bands in the Round
      A fundraising concert to support the music ministries in The Salvation Army Kenya East Territory.
      Salvation Army Bands: Blacktown, Sydney Salvation Brass, Lighthouse Big Band and Wollongong
      Tickets: $15 (includes afternoon tea), under 16 years free - Trybooking.com
      Details: 2:30-4:30pm, 13 Burelli St, Wollongong.
    • Palm Sunday 24th March
    • Maundy Thursday 28th March
    • Good Friday 29th March
    • Holy Saturday 30th March
      Figtree Community Easter Egg Hunt
      For kids between the ages of 0-10 but the whole event is perfect for the whole family, with over 9000 eggs, Matilda's Farmyard, and many other things it'll be great for the whole family! Hosted by NewDay Church.
      Details: 9:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. 25 O'Brien's Rd, Figtree
      Cost: $10 per child
      Register: www.newdaychurch.com.au/events/
    • Easter Sunday 31st March
    • Monday 1st April, Easter  Monday public holiday
    • Wednesday 3rd April, Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert
      Details: 2:00 p.m. IRT Woonona Aged Care, 4-6 Popes Rd, Woonona
    • Sunday 7th April, Daylight Saving Time ends
    • Monday 15th April, Autumn School Holidays start
    • Thursday 25th April, ANZAC Day
    • Monday 29th April, School Term 2 starts
    • Thursday 9th May, Ascension Day
    • Orthodox Good Friday 3rd May
    • Orthodox Holy Saturday 4th May
    • Orthodox Easter Sunday 5th May
    • Wednesday 8th May, Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert 
      Details: 11:00 a.m. Kiama Anglican Church, 2 Terralong St, Kiama
    • Sunday 12th May, Mother's Day
    • Sunday 19th May, Pentecost
    • Whit Monday 20th May
    • Trinity Sunday 26th May, National Sorry Day
    • Thursday 30th May, Catholic Corpus Christi
    • Tuesday 4th June,  Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert
      Details: 10:30 a.m. John Paul Village, 15 The Avenue, Heathcote
    • Friday 7th June, Catholic Feast of the Sacred Heart
    • Monday 10th June, King's Birthday public holiday
    • Tuesday 2nd July, Illawarra Seniors Band Concert
      Details: 10:30 a.m. Kiama Uniting Church, Manning St, Kiama
    • Monday 8th July, Winter School Holidays start
    • Monday 22nd July, School Term 3 starts
    • Monday 5th August, Bank holiday
    • Wednesday 7th August, Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert
      Details: 10:30 a.m. Marco Polo Aged Care, 11 Watergum Way, Woonona
    • Thursday 15th August, Catholic Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
    • Sunday 1st Sept, Father's Day
    • Wednesday 4th Sept, Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert
      Details: 11:00 a.m. Warrigal, 50 Harbour Blvd, Shell Cove
    • Monday 30th Sept, Spring School Holidays start
    • Tuesday 1st October, Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert
      Details: 10:30 a.m. Blue Haven Terralong, 55 Thomson St, Kiama
    • Friday 4th October, Feast of St Francis of Assisi
    • Sunday 6th October, Daylight Saving Time starts
    • Monday 7th October, Labour Day public holiday
    • Monday 14th October, School Term 4 starts
    • Friday 1st November, All Saints' Day
    • Saturday 2nd November, All Souls' Day
    • Wednesday 6th November, Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert
      Details: 10:30 a.m. Marco Polo Aged Care, 70 Waples Rd, Unanderra.
    • Monday 11th November, Remembrance Day
      Illawarra Seniors Band playing
      Details: 10:30 a.m. Lakeside Memorial Park, Kanahooka
    • Saturday 16th Nov., One Music Festival
      An interdenominational music and arts Festival for all ages.
      Details: Kiama Showground and Pavilion.
    • Saturday 30th November, St Andrew's Feast Day
    • Saturday 7th December, Illawarra Seniors' Band playing at Jamberoo Christmas Tree Lights
      Details: 7:00 p.m. Jamberoo
    • Tuesday 10th December,  Illawarra Seniors' Band Concert
      Details: 10:30 a.m. HammondCare, Shone Ave, Horsley
    • Tuesday 10th December, Illawarra Seniors' Band playing at Jamberoo Carols
      Details: 6:30 p.m. Jamberoo
    • Monday 23rd December, Summer School Holidays start
    • Wednesday 25th December, Christmas Day
    • Thursday 26th December, Boxing Day public holiday



    Regular Events

    Ps Jonathan Hyratt runs this group for people who struggle with addictions to drugs, alcohol, gambling, sex & love, over-eating, co-dependency, etc.
    Contact: Jono on 0412 174 181 or email life_recovery@hotmail.com

    10:30 am at Port Kembla Senior Citizens Community Hall.
    Contact: Jill White

    For men, women and children. If you are doing it tough or feeling lonely and would like somebody to talk to, come and chat over a free cuppa and a free light meal of Soup and Sandwiches. Or just come and relax for a while, read the paper or browse through a magazine, or just chill out!
    Venue and time: 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. Scouts Hall, Kiama Harbour
    Website: https://homesteadofhope.org.au/

    Women bring their own crafts, like sewing, embroidery, knitting (some are making squares for the ‘Wrap with Love’ rugs), crocheting or anything else. We sit, chat and do our own projects; plus have a cuppa & read a small ‘thought from the Bible’.
    Details: 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm Gerringong Anglican Church hall, cnr Blackwood & Fern Sts.
    Contact: Jenny (0407 282 657) or Beth (0438 691 363)

    We are a group for little ones to bring their adult carer to share and develop through play and gardening. We also welcome the whole community in and around West Wollongong.
    Venue: 10:00-12:00 a.m. Keiraview Uniting Church, 34 Fisher St West Wollongong.
    Contact: Jenny, 0401 245 669, Eden@keiraview.org

    Venue: 4:00-5:00 p.m. Fellowship Centre, Kiama Uniting Church, Manning St.
    Contact: Michele Broad 0400 324 708. All welcome

    Details: 9:00 am to 12 noon at Port Kembla Baptist Church hall, 81 Illawarra St, Port Kembla to raise funds to help people in the community.
    Contact: Maggie

    Morning tea followed by mahjong, jigsaws, scrabble and other games.
    Venue and time: 10:00 a.m. Scouts Hall, Kiama Harbour

    Hear from missionaries about their work. BYO Lunch and mug, tea and coffee provided.
    Details advised above. Contact: Mia David

    Stalls, Devonshire tea, BBQ, cakes at Dapto Uniting Church grounds and hall, 122 Princes Hwy, Dapto.

    Contact

    admin@5icm.org.au

    Follow Us
    Recent site updates
    • 22/2/24 Events
    • 20/2/24 Clearing the Way for Jesus #420, Events
    • 7, 10, 14/2/24 Events
    • 6/2/23 Clearing the Way for Jesus #419, Events, Church links and lists


    Download list of 
    Illawarra Churches
    (see Resources for more lists)
    Download latest
    Clearing the Way for Jesus newsletter

    Free AI Website Software